Share This Story

State Film Awards function held on July 25

Published: Tuesday, July 27, 2010, 13:16 [IST]

State film awards for 2009 and 17th J.C Daniel award were presented by Chief Minister V.S. Achudanandan at a function held at senate hall on Sunday in Thiruvanathapuram.

Veteran director Sethu Madhavan was given J.C Daniel award. The award includes a cash prize of lakh, statuette and a citation. V.S. Achuthanandan exhorted film community to face the issues unitedly and open heart to resolve the issues, which can be settled through dialogue.

Mammootty received the best actor award for the film Paleri Manikyam: Oru Paathira kolapathakathinte katha. Swetha Menon received best actress award and Renjith received best film award for the same film. M.P Sukumaran Nair received second best film award. Best supporting actor award was given to Manoj K. Jayan and Suraj Venjaramoodu received best comedian award.

Roshan Andrews received best entertainment film award for Ividam swargamanu. Baby Niveditha (best child artiste), Sasi Paravur (best story) K.G. Jayan (best cinematographer), Rafeeq Ahmed (best lyricist), Mohan Sithara (best music), Rahulraj (best back ground music), Sarat (best classical music), Sreekar Prasad (best editor), Muthuraj (art director), Natarajan (dress designer), P. Sukumar (best debutant director), Sivan (best children's film), Shobhi Thilakan (best dubbibg artiste) and Ranjith Ambadi and George (Make up man) also received awards in the function.

Culture and Education minister M.A.Baby was among those present at the function. However, awards winners M.T. Vasudevan Nair (screenplay), T. Hariharan (best director) and Jagathy Sreekumar (special jury) didn't make it to the event.

Topics: swetha menon, renjith, mammootty
Get all the latest updates on Mollywood, Follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Write a comment

Please read our comments policy before posting

Filmi Gupshup
Malayalam Photos